Subscribe Us

Maharashtra: Govt To Reduce VAT On Fuel, Says Chief Minister Eknath Shinde


Maharashtra Fuel Prices: Earlier in the day, CM Eknath Shinde won the floor test in the state Assembly. In the 288-member House, 164 MLAs voted for the motion of confidence.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde informed the state Assembly on Monday that the government would reduce VAT on fuel soon, PTI reported. "A decision to reduce VAT on fuel will be taken in the state Cabinet," Shinde said while replying to a debate after he won the floor test.

On Monday, the price of petrol in Mumbai is Rs 111.35 per litre and the retail price of diesel in the financial capital is Rs 97.28 per litre. 

On May 21, the Centre had announced a cut in excise duty on petrol by Rs 8 per litre, and on diesel by Rs 6 per litre. Following this, several state governments also reduced VAT on petrol and diesel. The previous MVA government had cut on VAT on petrol by Rs 2.08 per litre and on diesel by Rs 1.44 per litre.

Earlier in the day, CM Eknath Shinde won the floor test in the state Assembly. In the 288-member House, 164 MLAs voted for the motion of confidence, while 99 voted against it.

The trust vote for the Shinde-led government took place on the second day of the 2-day special session of the Assembly convened by Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

Speaking in the Assembly, Shinde said he had been suppressed for a long time and the rebellion led by him was a fallout of the unfair treatment meted out to him.

"The happenings of today didn't happen in just one day," PTI quoted Shinde as saying. "When I came for election here, there are people in this House who witnessed how I was treated. I have been suppressed for a long time. Sunil Prabhu (Shiv Sena MLA from the Uddhav Thackeray faction) is also a witness," he said.

Shinde was sworn in as CM on June 30, a day after Uddhav Thackeray quit the post. BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis was sworn in as the deputy CM. 

Around 40 Sena MLAs led by Shinde had rebelled against the party leadership, which eventually resulted in the collapse of the Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government last week.

Post a Comment