Subscribe Us

National Film Awards 2022: 'Soorarai Pottru' Wins Big, Suriya, Ajay Devgn Share Best Actor Award. Check Full List


The 68th National Film Awards were announced on Friday during an event in New Delhi. 

New Delhi: The 68th National Film Awards were announced on Friday during an event in New Delhi. 

Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting Anurag Thakur took to Twitter on Friday morning to inform that the awards will be announced on Friday evening after the jury members handed over their reports to the Ministry. 

Anurag Thakur told news agency ANI, “I want to congratulate all the jury members and all those people whose work was reviewed and would like to congratulate those recipients who will be awarded the National Film Awards. A word of appreciation for everyone who has done an outstanding job.”

Filmmaker Vipul Shah, who headed the jury for the feature film category, told ANI, “It has been heartening to see the kind of response that was received and the number of films that we got to see. And these were very difficult Covid times during which these films were either made or being made.”

The jury for the non-feature film category was headed by Chitrartha Singh.

Ajay Devgn, who won the Best Actor Award for his film Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior, said he is ‘elated’ on winning. The actor said, “I’m elated to win the Best Actor Award for Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior at the 68th National Awards along with Suriya, who won for Soorarai Pottru. I thank everyone, most of all my creative team, the audience and my fans. I also express my gratitude to my parents & the Almighty for their blessings. Congratulations to all the other winners.”

Here is the list of winners:

The award for Most Film Friendly State was given to Madhya Pradesh. The jury of the category was headed by Priyadarshan. 13 states of the country applied in the category. Special mention by jury to Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh.

Best Feature Film: Soorarai Pottru

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best Actor: Suriya (Soorarai Pottru) and Ajay Devgn (Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior)

Best Actress: Aparna Balamurali (Soorarai Pottru) 

Best Direction: Sachidanandan KR (Ayyappanum Koshiyum)

Best Supporting Actor: Biju Menon (Ayyappanum Koshiyum)

Best Supporting Actress: Lakshmi Priyaa Chandramouli (Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum)

Best Lyricist: Manoj Muntashir (Saina)

Best Music Direction (Songs): Thaman S wins (Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo)

Best Music Direction (Background Music): GV Prakash (Soorarai Pottru)

Best Male Playback Singer: Rahul Deshpande (Mi Vasantrao) and Anish Mangesh Gosavi (Taktak)

Best Female Playback Singer: Nanchamma, Ayyappanum Koshiyam

Best Audiography: Dollu, Mi Vasantrao and Malik

Best Choreography: Natyam

Best Cinematography: Avijatrik

Best Costume Design: Tanhaji

Best Production Design: Kappela

Best Editing: Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

Best Make-up: Natyam

Best Screenplay: Soorarai Pottru, Sudha Kongara and Mandela, Madonne Ashwin

Best Children's Film: Sumi (Marathi)

Best Hindi Film: Toolsidas Junior

Best Dimasa Film: Sekmkhor

Best Tulu Film: Jeetige

Best Telugu Film: Colour Photo

Best Tamil Film: Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

Best Malayalam Film: Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam

Best Kannada Film: Dollu 

Best Bengali Film: Avijatrik

Best Assamese Film: Bridge

Awards in the Non-Feature Film category:

Best Music Direction: Vishal Bhardwaj for Marenge toh Vahin Jaa Kar 

Best Cinematography: Nikhil S Praveen for Shabdikunna Kalappa

Best Investigative film: The Saviour: Brig. Pritam Singh 

Best Exploration Film: Wheeling The Ball

Best Educational Film: Dreaming of Words (Malayalam)

Best Film on Social Issues: Justice Delayed But Delivered and Three Sisters

Best Promotional Film: Surmounting Challenges 

Best Biographical film: Pabung Syam (Manipuri)

Best Non-Feature Film: Testimony of Ana (Dangi)

Post a Comment